A place where my thoughts congregate

Gardening 101

So my best friend managed to rope me into starting a vegetable garden with him. Any person who knows me will know that this white boy from Pretoria is to gardening what common sense is to the internet. Needless to say, there was a lot of whinging involved.

What people also failed to mention, is that the patch of ground we were planning on using, was filled with old building rubble. I can still feel the jarring shocks of my shovel hitting concrete if I close my eyes. But it all worked out for the best. After a couple of hours of labour (shudder – I hate that word) we managed to plant some baby cabbages, white radishes, transplant a rose bush, rescue a sad little purple plant that was in the way and prep the patch for the herb garden.

Image

See those rocks at the front, that’s one of two piles of roughly 15% of the patch we have to clear. I’ll accept your sympathy in the form of cake thankyouverymuch.

But I will stop whinging now. This is going to be awesome, especially when I get to eat the stuff we planted. So keep an eye on here for my adventures in the concrete jungle.

One response

  1. Pingback: Gardening 101: We have shoots! (& a trip to Bloemfontein) « Out of my cave

Leave a comment